Missing Nine: A Picteview

Sometimes there are shows that just don’t offer much to your life. Light dramas (not always necessarily fluffy) that are fun watches but don’t add much substance. In those cases I’ve been at a loss for what to do, since I want to give myself closure but don’t have enough thoughts to give them a philosophical review. Thankfully, since I’ve started taking screenshots I think I’ve found a solution–a mix between my W: Two Worlds gallery and a review, with all my favorite scenes displayed forever in their own little corner of the internet.

PS. If you want to see all the screenshots I took of the show, check out Cozy’s Drama Book week 2, week 3, week 4, week 5, week 6, and week 7, or here’s a fun Missing Nine tag to look at all its posts, including the Drama Journal.

Scariest Scenes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, in Missing Nine’s case it’s also an unfortunate example of wasted potential in a drama. There was so much going for this show at the beginning, with the ominous, jilting tone and ridiculous humor on the island contributing to a jarring tone that really worked for the in media res setup. And then… they started to get off the island. A few key missteps and the show went from being just a fun ride to giving me all sorts of new philosophical thoughts… about kdrama men’s hairstyles and facial growths.

Funniest Scenes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s not to say there weren’t things I didn’t still love about the show: Jung Kyoung Ho put in a fantastic performance as Joon-Oh, and I really fell in love with the early Ra Bong Hee through her actress Baek Jin-Hee (I hope she gets more work in the future!) I thought Choi Tae-Joon was only serviceable as our villain, but there were a few really great scenes toward the end that showed a great emotional range, and opened my eyes to new possibilities for him.

Best Joon-Ho Pictures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Best Bong-Hee Pictures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Best Tae-Ho Pictures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s no help that my favorite character, Yeol, was murdered early on. I’m not still secretly super bitter that they never even found his body *sarcasm* *sarcasm* *yes I’m bitter* but you can’t have everything in life, I guess. At least his death got made me invest some emotion in the show–I started really connecting to the characters after that. I didn’t want to waste another moment with them when I considered they could be gone the next minute.

Best Moments Pictures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then there were the moments I just had to shake my head. How could a show be so good and so bad at the same time? There was a major fall in quality during the second half of the show, and at some point I realized the show was more ridiculous than it was real thriller. It had always taken some suspense of disbelief, but eventually it was… too much. There were moments I wondered how the writer of Bad Guys and 38 Task Force even put this together. Maybe they were a junior writer?

Still, sometimes the hilarity made the show all the more entertaining, and I never got fed up enough with it to want to drop it. I made it to the end, I enjoyed the ride, and I’m glad I watched it, all said. So thank you, Missing Nine, for being what you were. Whatever that was.

Final Rating: 6/10

Best Photo

screenshot-4953

When I really stop and think about it, this photo captures all of my thoughts about this show. It had a lot going for it, and then it was cut short (oof, bad pun too soon).

Save

Leave a Reply

