Cozy’s Drama Book #15

I had the opportunity over the weekend to attend a friend’s 18th birthday Kpop party, which among a few other things has effectively delayed my Picture Perfect for the week (today or tomorrow, I promise!). I really loved getting to know some fellow Hallyu fans, talking dramas and music with them, and generally enjoying a little slice of Korean pop culture from halfway around the world. As the night went on, however, I did notice a few differences between fandoms. I, for instance, couldn’t match a dance to the kpop mv for the life of me (bar one or two exceptions). Give me some trivia, K-Drama moments or play an OST song though, and I could probably give you the origin drama. I also couldn’t tell you when a new group would debut, but I could tell you that Lee Jong Suk’s new drama is slated for sometime this spring (hopefully April-May), that Tunnel will follow Voice on OCN (I’m excited) and Strong Woman Do Bong Soon has brought in record ratings for its little cable station, hopefully good news for private broadcasters everywhere. (Tomorrow With You, a cable show from a popular channel, has suffered in the ratings game). https://i1.wp.com/www.hancinema.net/photos/photo825433.jpg

All of that aside, I had a really fun time and made a few new friends. It did come at the expense of some drama time, but c’est la vie that’s just a sacrifice I have to make. ^^

~ ~ ~

I settled back onto my bed, stretching out my feet and shaking out my shoulders. Silly daylight savings. Now I had to go to bed earlier.

I looked at my laptop, half-finished episode still open on the next tab over. I hadn’t had time to finish it before I left for the party, and I didn’t want to wait until Monday to catch up. Plus the preview for the next episode of Down With Love had looked amazing. I checked the clock again. If I started now, I’d get a good 6 and a half hours. Screenshot (5671)

I hit play, smiling instantly as it picked up where I’d left off:

“Are you really gay?” *two men glance at Do Bong-Soon*

“…I’d rather not answer questions about my private life.”

fast forward twenty minutes

I stared down at the woman on the screen, begrudgingly admiring her courage. I still couldn’t understand why she’d put herself in a position to waver, but I admitted she had courage to be honest with Gook-Du about it. Poor guy. While a bit dense, he really did seem to come alive around her.

fast forward twenty minutesScreenshot (5616)

I stared at the credits, debating within myself. A quick glance at the clock revealed it was 11:30–no, 12:30. Darned daylight savings again. My eyes snuck back to the episode of Down With Love I’d pulled up. Just twenty minutes. Or fast forward through the whole episode. I hit play.

4 responses to “Cozy’s Drama Book #15

  1. Sounds like a fun party! I’ve never met a person in real life who likes kdramas or kpop. I got a couple family members to casually watch but that’s it. So I’m envious that you get to enjoy it with others! lol

  2. Down with Love!!!! My first ever drama. (My addiction started late!) I love love love Ella in it and will forever have a soft mushy spot in my heart for Jerry Yan. 😍 My ultimate guilty pleasure drama.

Leave a Reply

