My K-Drama Life: Tripping

So, yesterday was an adventure for me. Not really a spectacularly bad or good day, just definitely one for the history books–and a potential K-drama adaptation. I squeezed a midterm I hadn’t really studied for in between two classes, realized I had a second midterm that I had forgotten about that ended tomorrow, took that midterm in record time (and aced it, I think^^) had lunch with my papa, asked one of my friends out on a date (aiiiieee I’m excited), met a few new people and scandalized my roommate with Strong Woman Do Bong Soon. Yeah, it was a full day. But I had the inkling it would be a day worthy of drama when I kicked it off that morning with an epic fall down the stairs.

Screenshot (5296)

No, really. I ended up with some pretty awesome battle scars, although they’re a little gross (sorry):

Falling, tripping, and general clumsiness are a long-held tradition of K-dramas, kind of in the same vein as trucks of doom and amnesia. I never expected it to happen to me though, at least not in the dramatic, drama worthy way it did. I was running out the door late for the bus, had everything and a pair of glasses in my hands, and tripped magnificently right outside my apartment and down the stairs. Backpack, phone, glasses and waterbottle went flying and I could only pray I hadn’t broken the lenses.

Screenshot (5295)

There wasn’t anybody there to catch me at the end, but I do have an angel for a roommate (we are a package) who gave me some much appreciated medical care. At the end of the day, I’m just glad it wasn’t one of the the two most epic falls in K-Drama history. That honor I think still goes to Cheong Song Yi, who dove off a building and fell halfway through the fall. It sounds impossible, but it’s true. She had a bit of help, of course, with some evil minions sabotaging equipment and all.

https://i2.wp.com/i1058.photobucket.com/albums/t413/javabeansdb/drama/2014/starman/star2/star14-00009.jpg

And if not her, then Lee Jae Kyung, who was tossed off a building as payback.

https://i1.wp.com/i1058.photobucket.com/albums/t413/javabeansdb/drama/2014/starman/star2/star14-00435.jpg

While I’m glad I didn’t actually take a fall like that, I really wouldn’t mind having a friendly neighborhood alien around to save me in my clumsier moments. Kim Soo-Hyun did a great job of it in My Love From Another Star, too, from glass shards to cars off cliffs to emergency trips for surgery…

My Love From the Star Episode 11 - 별에서 온 그대 - Watch Full ...

He even put up with her drunk habits, which were pretty hilarious. And I guess only fair, since she put up with his too.

https://1.soompi.io/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/What-Works-Questions.png

Point is, I’d happily fall and trip every day for the rest of my life if it meant having an alien like that as a bodyguard. Oh well, better luck next time I guess!

Screenshot (5292)

2 responses to “My K-Drama Life: Tripping

  1. :o I tripped on the stairs while walking to class the other day too… but it wasn’t as bad because I was walking up and not down. I hope your injury heals soon!

Leave a Reply

