A Pleasant Surprise: Strong Woman Do Bong Soon

Pffft I wasn’t expecting this to be so good. To be honest, I’m not usually one for super light, fluffy dramas. I love a good rom-com like anybody, of course, but my kind of humor tends towards the offbeat, the sarcastic or even sometimes morbid. But this show! Had me laughing throughout the first episode twice, since I rewatched it with a friend. screenshot-4618

It’s totally cheesy, and half the time my laughs were of the “what are they even doing???” variety, but it achieves the same effect: one Cozybooks in stitches on the floor, grinning like a ninny and snapping screenshots every so often. screenshot-4670screenshot-4657

I think I’m aboard for the ride, although I wasn’t planning on this–so let’s all get on board our wacky CEO and bodyguard train! (Or maybe it’s a hoverboard this time?) screenshot-4645

The best thing, though, is that it’s doing incredibly well in the ratings game. JTBC, the station it airs on, hasn’t been nearly as popular as tvN as a private station. Hopefully this show will help them make a new name for themselves. If you want to check it out yourself, here’s a trailer!

Leave a Reply

