My K-Drama Life: Girl Who Sees Smells

I did not wake up from a coma and start to see smells between Friday and today, sorry. ^^ But I was at the aquarium with my family–and I actually had a lot of fun! It was really cool, there were a lot of animals there I had never even known existed. And I got to see a Zebra Mantis shrimp, which happens to be a personal mascot of mine:

... AMATEUR | image tagged in mantis shrimp | made w/ Imgflip meme maker

They have a few extra rods and cones… basically they see extra colors. Lots of them.

Really, you should just read this comic:

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/mantis_shrimp

But that’s beside the point. The point is I went to the aquarium, saw all the pretty fish, and thought “Gee what a great place for a date!”. Hence the Girl Who Sees Smells. It wasn’t a proposal or a wedding, but I did discover that they are in fact fairly romantic places, despite appearances. And I saw a worker who reminded me of Park Yoo-Chun.

The Girl Who Sees Smells-p1.jpg

Girl Who Sees Smells is a pretty self explanatory title that tells you… not much about the rest of the plot. It follows the titular sniffer-blessed Oh Cho-Rim and Choi Moo-Gak, a policeman without any of his senses (it’s a real thing, losing your senses). The real twist is the killer they track down using her special powers: this serial murderer thought he’d killed the only witness to his crimes–Oh Cho-Rim–years ago. Little does he know she lived but can’t remember the event. Thrills, laughs and general havoc ensue as the crime is brought to light.

the girl who sees smells

The aquarium comes in the form of Moo-Gak’s previous job. Before he turned to solving crime and chasing serial killers he worked at an aqaurium–and it comes up several times throughout the drama as a place where he was truly happy. Several key moments occur at the aquarium over the course of the series, and while I never saw it as a super romantic location while watching, I totally get it after visiting.

The Girl Who Sees Smells / Sensory Couple Episode 15 - Korean Drama ...

Girl Who Sees Smells is a really fun drama, with some wacky humor and great acting. I’ve seen it twice, so it’s surprisingly re-watchable even if not one of my favorites. I really loved our heroine, always positive and good-hearted if a bit foolish. It’s definitely a watch, if you like your romance mixed with a little scare.

Final Verdict: 8/10

The Girl Who Sees Smells (냄새를 보는 소녀; Naemsaereul Boneun ...

One response to “My K-Drama Life: Girl Who Sees Smells

Leave a Reply

