The Third Day of Christmas

Three is a pretty special number. If you want something to feel right, make it a threesome. Three bears, three blind mice, three billy goats and three little pigs. Three witches, too. Three meals a day. Shakespeare would repeat important information three times. And, in a more sacred sense, there are three members of the Godhead, each with a vital role to play in the Gospel that I love.salt-lake-city-1241661_960_720

After much deliberation, that is what I want to recognize today: the Godhead that leads and directs my life. I’ve always been able to count on them, and they are always there for me. No matter what.

I have a Heavenly Father who loves me–who will always love me, unconditionally, even when He doesn’t love the things I choose to do with my life. I have an older brother, Jesus Christ, who died for me. He is in that sense another Father: through Christ I am born again, in the Spirit to return to my Heavenly Father. And I also have a constant companion, the Holy Ghost, God’s voice here on the earth to guide his children home.pray-664786_640

This year in particular I have felt each other their hands in my life. Through the end of Senior Year, Midterms and even now preparing for finals (there’s another triad, guys) I have felt my Heavenly Father’s love and peace rest upon me. I know my brother Christ is working in my life as those qualities I need to develop have grown, and I have felt my weaknesses become strengths. I know better now than ever that Christ’s atonement is the key to living with strength and growth towards God. And the Holy Ghost has, as before, has made no qualms about speaking loudly to me when I might not be listening. I have been given inspiration several times throughout this year to put long term plans in motion, and I have been blessed because of it. the-bible-958716_960_720

This year has been a great test of my faith, forcing me to choose between constant, faithful church attendance and spotty going, dying eventually into inactivity. I’m grateful for the truthfulness of this Gospel and the testimonies the Spirit bears, which hold the strongest sway over my heart. I’m grateful for the opportunity given this year to solidify sixteen years of testimony.

As I write this I am listening to the Book of Mormon on audio, hoping the sound of my keyboard doesn’t wake my sleeping roommate. But it’s the Book that’s the most important point, as I am so grateful for the influence it’s had in my life. It is true, the Godhead is real. God loves me and you and the whole rest of the world… and I’m grateful for the opportunity I have to grow up towards Him. I’m grateful for the opportunity I have to celebrate Christ’s birth this month, and for the extra closeness I feel to Him at this wonderful time of the year.jesus-christ-1149720_1920.jpg

Thanks for reading and I hope you all find a time to think of Him today,

Cozybooks

PS. Tune in tomorrow for the drama awards: Best melodrama!

Leave a Reply

