On the Second Day of Christmas

Not many things seem as good the second day. Even fewer get even better. In fact, Papa Murphy’s pizza re pan-fried with some butter the next day may be the only instance I know of that has achieved this. So believe me when I say it’s hard to find something worthy of the second day of Christmas. This is the day when the shine has worn off, you have a stomachache from whatever you ate the night before, and it’s hard enough to get up, let alone be enthusiastic about something. And so today’s spotlight goes to something that only got better with time and made me feel better. Someone that always made me smile when I was down and helped me get up when I’d rather stay in bed: my mom. heart-583895_1920

I don’t know if she reads this blog, I’ve actually asked for it to be my own space before, but I hope that if she doesn’t read this then I at least remember to write her a letter today. Because she has been one of the very best parts of my 2016. She spent hours figuring out college with me before I graduated, she took me on my dream graduation trip, she’s always been happy to talk with me on the phone, hold me if I had a hard week at college, and I never realized how hard she worked every day to put food on the table until suddenly I had to do it for myself. pray-664786_640

My mom isn’t a superstar though, or a superhero. She’s not in it to be glamorous, or for the money. She’s not concerned with her image but with her character. She’s an advocate for kindness and respect to others, and a builder of my faith. She’s not perfect–nobody’s perfect–but she’s perfect at trying again, and again, and again until she makes it right. She’s already pretty darn close to flawless in my eyes though, and I love her more than words can say.

It’s a bit unfair, really, to say that my mom is one of the best parts of my 2016. Because really her influence isn’t limited to this year alone. She has been one of the best parts of my life, period. She has had such an influence on my life as I grew up, and she set such an example for me. I want to be like her when I have a family of my own. baby-1151351_960_720

I know not all homes are happy, and no family is picture perfect… but I hope that everyone has someone to call mom, because that’s one of the best feelings ever.

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to call home this Christmas,

Cozybooks

cold-1284028_960_720

PS If you want the first day of Christmas click here, and don’t forget to tune it tomorrow for the second day of the drama awards!

Leave a Reply

