Words Challenge, Day 28

Maybe this isn’t poetry, but I’ve been wanting to try it for a while so I’m doing it anyway. Once upon a time in my favorite writing class (this is the second once upon a time story I’m telling today, how fun) my teacher told us one of the most famous short stories ever. One of the shortest and also one of the saddest. It’s by Earnest Hemingway, purportedly. Are you sure you want to hear it? Really sure? Ok here goes:

For sale: baby shoes, never worn.

baby-shoes-1514007_960_720

Yeah. Sad, right? But the principle is what I really wanted to try out today. What kind of story can I make in only six words? What kind of impact will it have. It took me a bit, but this is what I finally ended up with. Are you ready? Ok let’s go!

Keep the ring–you bought it.

Maybe? Maybe? What did it make you think of–was it a failed engagement? Because that’s what I was going for. Let me know if it worked, it was super fun anyway.

ring-791296_960_720

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

