Monday Motivation: If you can’t talk, Smile.

Confession time: I’m shy. Painfully so, actually. For a long time I’ve denied it, emphasizing a different part of my nature: I’m an introvert. It’s not that I can’t talk to people, it’s that I don’t feel the need. And I maintain there is a difference, and I am an introvert. But I’m also painfully shy at times–especially (maybe only?) when it’s someone I really want to talk to. Then I get all sorts of shaky inside clam up tight. No conversation out of me, no sirree. It takes me weeks of sitting in a class or work environment to finally open up and talk to the people around me. Isn’t that so backwards? ^^ I want to be the kind of person who can start and hold a natural conversation anywhere. I know those kinds of people exist, I’m related to some of them. And they work hard on it, I know. I guess I’ll just have to work hard too. I believe in myself!refugee-1244692_960_720

And so we come back to step five of the Cozybooks-be-social program: talk to someone you don’t know. Hold a conversation with them, get to know them, maybe even get their number. Make a friend. Talk to a stranger (not sketchy ones, though, and if they offer you candy you don’t get in the van). And if you can’t start with talking, just smile. Smiling will never make you feel worse, I promise–not if you really mean it. And if you smile, the chances are you’ll want to say something, too. smile-191626_960_720I bring this up because I’ve been trying to talk to this one guy on the bus for weeks now (it’s kind of sad, I know. Don’t laugh too hard) and have yet to open my mouth. I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m crazy, if he even knows I exist. And that needs to change, because I’m tired of not speaking up around those I find attractive. Don’t think of it like that, make it a challenge! You can do this, Cozybooks! And if you can’t speak, smile. Smiling will always make your day better. May we all find someone this week that needs a smile–or a new friend.

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

maxresdefault (PS. LJH is not the man on the bus. I only wish. ^^)

2 responses to “Monday Motivation: If you can’t talk, Smile.

  1. 加油 cozybooks! I really think it’s awesome that you are trying to do something out of your comfort zone. Life is too short!
    I took the first initiative to get to know my husband when I first saw him (he was cute and he could sing- I was swooning!) so I fully support you giving it a shot. 😝 Cozybooks 화이팅!

Leave a Reply

