A List of Spiderman

I’m not even going to waste time with much 0f an intro. He’s Spiderman, I love him. He’s the only superhero whose name I say out loud, without fail, whenever I see a picture of him. I already made one list about him, but it really didn ‘t do him justice. So. Take Two, here we go!https://i0.wp.com/static.srcdn.com/slir/w620-h320-q90-c620:320/wp-content/uploads/Spider-Man-spin-offs.jpg

He’s Religious. Unlike Batman and Iron Man and some of the other superheros pervading the super-verse, Spiderman remains distinctly Christian. As a fellow Christian, I appreciate that–even if we don’t hold all of the same values.

He’s Younger. I can only like so many thirty-plus superheros before I start to get wandery eyes for someone a bit closer to my own age. Spider man gets the win-win of both a childhood and adulthood arc. His story very purposefully starts while he’s still in High School–and he begins his superhero journey then as well. But as time goes on in the real world, Spidey ages too–and now he’s married to Mary Jane. https://i0.wp.com/static.srcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/Spiderman-New-Costume-Suits-Best.jpg

He’s snarky. Not quite as irreverant as Iron Man, but Spiderman definitely has a mouth in his own right. He quips and satires with the best of them, turning some serious situations into lighthearted moments.

He’s not infalliable. Perhaps best shown in his latest arc, Spiderman isn’t perfect. He’s sold his soul to the devil, last I heard. And he starts his journey by letting his powers go to waste, with disastrous results. Spiderman makes plenty of mistakes, and I like that. He’s super, not perfect. Iron Spider Armor - Ultimate Spider-Man Animated Series Wiki

He’s super hot. Maybe it’s just my imagination filling in the gaps, but I’ve always thought Spiderman was ridiculously attractive. Perhaps not in the traditional sense–I definitely don’t picture him with a cut jaw and hulking biceps. But I’ve been researching my personality lately (INFP) and I think that my idea of attractive is more descriptive of their personality than their looks. Spider man knows what his goals are (protect aunt May and the innocent) and he doesn’t spend a lot of time agonizing over things after the initial “Oh-no-Ben’s-dead” arc. And I like people who know what they want.

He’s not massively built (This is where my Asian preferences come in). The above isn’t to say I don’t care about appearance. Heaven knows I can find a man as super hot as the next girl. My tastes just tend to run more in line with the Asian ideal of beauty–a bit more aquiline, a bit more slim and lanky, a bit more delicate than western ideals. Spiderman, with his slimmer figure (in many of the comics) and less bulky physique, is just my type. Kinda like Lee Jong Suk.

screenshot-719

He’s not rich. He’s no Bruce Wayne, no Tony Stark, no Alien King or Kind of Wakanda. He’s a kid from bad-town New York, and I like that. Teaches him a new perspective on things.

He’s one possible moral center of the Marvel Universe. Did you know they once put it to the netizens to decide who among the Marvel heroes would win in a fight? It came down to Captain America and Spiderman. Cool, huh? I don’t recall who won in the end, but the article commented after the fact saying it was interesting how the two moral centers of the Marvel Universe ended up as the major contenders. It’s great power and great responsibility vs. the man who won’t move against his morals. Truth Justice and the American Way against the little guy, the representation of where a lot of Americans start.

And finally… He’s got a hilarious children’s tv show. Have you ever seen it? Amazing. Superb tv, fluff in all the right ways. Here’s a few pictures:https://i1.wp.com/www.morbidlyamusing.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/ultimate3.jpeghttps://i1.wp.com/wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net/80450F/comicsalliance.com/files/2012/03/ultimatedisco.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/19/92/0b/19920b155d74dcc98f533c951d342050.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/cdn.collider.com/wp-content/uploads/ultimate-spider-man-tv-series-image.jpg

also, if you want more Spiderman suits, go here.

Leave a Reply

