Words Challenge, Day 7

Today’s poem comes from a much more recent era than either of the ones previous. It’s a form of poetry that I myself have come to love and admire: slam poetry. I’ve written one of my own, but it was poems like the one I’m sharing today that really make me a fan. So without further ado… a link to the poem on youtube.

Tamara, by Joshua Bennet:

 

It’s not even three minutes long, but it’s become one of my all time favorite poems. A lot of slam poetry is angst and gloom, I know. But when poets like Joshua Bennett perform it just makes me see the beauty in words again. More than trendy rap plays or violent outbursts of self expression, it’s the heartfelt words of a brother that capture my heart. Thanks, Joshua!

Leave a Reply

