Lovely Days: B

Hello everyone! I’m substituting this week’s Just a Thought with a Lovely Days writing excerpt, because I can. I’ve wanted to write this post for a while now, but this just seemed like the opportune moment (the… kairotic moment, one might say) to do so! (Sorry about the kairos, it’s my writing class getting to me).

~ ~ ~

 

Word: Believer. Noun, singular. Def: one who believes.

To believe. Verb, without object: To have confidence in the truth, the existence, or the reliability of something, although without absolute proof.

*Click* Play. The screen flickered to life and the lines slid in out ear on their way out the door. The images bounced off my glazed eyes. I sat curled comfortably on the couch with the phone in my hand, dial tone tapping a march out into the empty living room. What had happened? Where had I gone wrong? When did this happen?

~ ~ ~ Twenty Minutes earlier.

Ring. Ringaring. I pushed my cell away a bit with my feet, pulling the blanket closer up around my shoulders and focusing in on the conversations playing out before me:

“Shanshan, do you believe in me?” He darted forward a few feet and grabbed her in a hug. Oh, this was gonna be good.

Ring. Ringaring.  Who was that? A second call… I sighed and reached across to the screen, tapping the pause button before going for the abandoned phone.

“Hello?”

“Oh, thank heaven you picked up! Can we go out for some food or something?”

“Emmlyn? Sure. What’s up?”

“I just… I don’t know what to say. It’s hard to explain.”

“Ok. Try.”

“It just… I just feel like nothing’s going right anymore. I can’t… argh… blah. It’s just relationships, really. Do you have time to talk right now?”

I glanced at the beckoning screen. “Yeah, I’ve got time.”

… Twenty minutes later.

“Wow. That sucks. I’m really sorry. I’m so sure they’re just going to up and leave like that. Have you prayed about it?”

“Hm? Oh, I know. I’m so ticked at them right now.”

“Have you prayed about it?”

“Ah… I don’t really do that anymore. It’s not like it helped before, right?”

… … What did I say to that? “Well, I’ll be praying for you both, then. Let’s get together tomorrow for lunch. I want to actually see you. Not just talk.”

“Haha, I know right? It’s not the same. See you tomorrow then.”

… … “See ya.” I tossed the phone back down on the couch and whacked the computer screen again, playing the scene over again.

“Shanshan, do you believe in me?”

I closed my eyes and wondered what to do. It shouldn’t hurt this much. It’s her life, not mine. I believed–couldn’t that be enough?

“I believe in you,, FengTeng.”

I reached out and closed the computer lid. Maybe I needed a nap. I’d know what to do in the morning.

Word: Believer. Noun, singular. Def: one who believes. To believe. Verb, without object: To have confidence in the truth, the existence, or the reliability of something, although without absolute proof.

Alternatively, to take the harder path and trust someone has it under control despite evidence to the contrary.

~ ~ ~

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

In response as well to today’s prompt, Perplexed.

Leave a Reply

