Monday Motivation: Sleep on it.

I had a very wise teacher in High school who told us repeatedly how to solve the majority of life’s problems. She said: step back from the situation. Don’t analyze the problem, only ask yourself, “Have I eaten? And did I get a full eight hours of sleep last night?” If the answer to either of those questions is no, her advice is–go fix yourself a meal (not just a light snack) and then take a nap. When you wake up, you will undeniably feel refreshed a bit more equipped to handle the situation in front of you.

pizza-boxes-358029_960_720

I’ve given that advise a test or two over the last few months–and let me tell you all it works. Whenever I start to feel ill at ease or unable to handle the challenges I face in life, a bowl of food and sleep–even if it’s only for ten or twenty minutes–helps me to rise up again and tackle my problems head on. I think there’s something to be said for basic needs: if I haven’t taken care of the functions necessary to live, then I can’t move on to something else.

I bring this up as a motivation today because frankly I haven’t been getting enough sleep lately. I started college and everything seemed so stressful–and looking back at the last three weeks I can definitely tell why. I need more sleep than I’ve been getting, and I need to slow down and eat for more than ten minutes at a time. I realized this a few days ago and made a conscious effort–even cancelling plans with friends–to get more sleep. It helped, and I had a few days feeling like I had everything under control and in charge of myself.

The evidence speaks for itself, and I know exactly what I’ll do this week to motivate myself: take a step back, eat something–and then sleep on it.

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

