Words Challenge, Day 2

Today’s an original poem, written not even a week ago. It’s inspired by my first week of college–overwhelming, to say the least.

poetry-720609_640

Hi.

Hi, mom.

Yeah, I’m doing fine. My first class? First rate.

Ratemyprofessor, definitely using that again.

Again? I’m sorry. … yeah. Yeah.

No, I’m ok–really! Really.

Really don’t know what to say–hang up, try again tomorrow.

Back to class, eyes shut tight. No leaking–here we go again:

Threepaperstwoassignmentsfiftyfourpagestwoaudiofilesthreevideos dolaundrygotoworkmakefoodwatchsomethinggotosleepnowaitdoyourhomework–

Go!

I can’t do everything!

Everything.

Something.

Anything!–Nothing!

I’m nothing in the face of this crowd. I’m one set of eyes in a million.

A million questions, no answers–just keep going.

Going from place to place without knowledge, they told me I was smart–

Smarts that I’m here for, smarts that got me here.

Why’s everyone suddenly so smart?

Got it down, got it made:

Made the honor roll, made the swim team, made up for my mistakes–

Made up hair made up faces made up smiles–

You made me smile so I sat down next to you in class and said,

Hi.

~ ~ ~

It’s not my best work, but I don’t think it’s terrible either after almost a year out of the game. I’m excited to see where this will take me as I write for the next month!

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

