Monday Motivation: Serve someone

I heard the greatest thing yesterday in church: to fix the body we turn inward, taking care of the body and focusing on the self. But to fix the soul we must turn outward, as each time we serve someone else we are a little more healed.

bear-683956_640.jpg

Isn’t that just great? It helped me realize a little bit of what was wrong with this last week. I felt so overwhelmed, so incapable–like I had to have everything learned yesterday and everyone else had taken the test last hour. Overwhelming, to say the least. But I think a major part of it was that I’d lost my grounding, I’d left the structure of my old life behind. And as I start to find new structure, I think service ought to motivate me to stay energized and happy.

Everyone’s soul needs healing, and if ten minutes helping someone get to their car–or a half an hour giving someone a lift–or two hours making dinner for someone will help, I want to do it. I really believe that when we serve others we find ourselves, and as one Prophet in my church has said:

the more we serve our fellowmen in appropriate ways, the more substance there is to our souls. We become more significant individuals as we serve others. We become more substantive as we serve others—indeed, it is easier to “find” ourselves because there is so much more of us to find!” ~ President Spencer W. Kimball

I hope this week when I feel down I remember to look outside myself, because that’s where I’ll find the help I need through service to others.

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

PS. This video pretty much made me cry. 9 minutes, but it’s worth it.

snow-thrower-951149_640.jpg

Leave a Reply

