To Uplift and Inspire: The Sacred Place of Restoration

I love this talk not only for what it says about the restoration, but what it explains about questions in a larger sense. God cares about our concerns, our worries and our questions. The answers may not always be the ones we want–and they may not always come right now, at this very minute and not one moment later–but the answers do come. Do not give up! Continue to search and pray with an open mind and heart, and God will guide you to the answers. This talk was given by Elder Jairo Mazzagardi during the Saturday afternoon session of Conference. It is titled The Sacred Place of Restoration.

~ ~ ~

“A good friend of mine who was a Church member tried for years to teach me the gospel of eternal families. It wasn’t until I attended the São Paulo Temple open house in October 1978 and entered a sealing room that the doctrine of eternal families came into my heart”

“After my visit to the temple open house, I sought an answer through prayer, having faith and a sure confidence that God would answer me, which was His Church on earth.”

“I realized that the Lord knew and cared about me as He answered my prayers.”

“My wife and I eagerly looked forward to entering the temple to have our family sealed for eternity. That happened one year and seven days after my baptism, which was a wonderful moment. I felt as if the eternities had been divided at the altar between what came before and what came after the sealing.”

“When I read or heard about the events leading up to the First Vision, crowds of people were mentioned, which did not make sense to me.

Questions began to arise in my mind. Why did the Church have to be restored in the United States and not in Brazil or Italy, the land of my ancestors?”

“In October 1984, I attended general conference as a counselor in a stake presidency. After, I went to Palmyra, New York, eager to find the answer.

Arriving there, I tried to understand: Why did the Restoration have to be here, and why such a spiritual uproar?”

“At that time, the most reasonable answer to me was because the U.S. Constitution guaranteed freedom.”

“That afternoon I decided to go to the Peter Whitmer farm, and when I got there, I found a man at the window of a cabin. He had an intense glow in his eyes. I greeted him and then began to ask those same questions.

He then asked me, “Do you have time?” I said yes.

He explained that Lakes Erie and Ontario and, farther east, the Hudson River are located in that region.”

“At that moment, I understood how the hand of God our Father, in His immense wisdom, had prepared in His plan a place to bring the young Joseph Smith, putting him in the midst of that religious confusion, because there, in the Hill Cumorah, the precious plates of the Book of Mormon were hidden.”

“The Church of Jesus Christ could not be restored without the eternal gospel revealed in the Book of Mormon as another testament of Jesus Christ, even the Son of God, the Lamb of God, who took away the sins of the world.”

“If you who hear me have any questions in your heart, do not give up!

I invite you to follow the example of the Prophet Joseph Smith when he read in James 1:5, “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally.””

“I bear witness that the Lord raised up prophets, seers, and revelators to guide His kingdom in these latter days and that in His eternal plan families are meant to be together forever. He cares about His children. He answers our prayers.

Because of His great love, Jesus Christ atoned for our sins. He is the Savior of the world. Of this I testify in the holy name of Jesus Christ, amen.”

~ ~ ~

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

