Drama Challenge, Day 12

Day 12: Actor or actress you dislike for reasons you can’t explain.

I know it says ‘or’ but it really means ‘and’ right? Right. Let’s just say I get two picks on this one and go for it. I’ve said it before (I think), but I’ll say it again just to be sure: I’m not terribly picky when it comes to acting. There are a few people, however, whose acting I just. Don’t. Like. Here’s the unlucky two (and please, this doesn’t mean they’re not wonderful people. It just means I don’t connect with them)…

Lee Min-Ho. I don’t know if it’s the hair. I don’t know if it’s the hype. I don’t know if he’s just really not that good at acting. But for whatever reason, I’ve never liked him. I tried Boys Over Flowers and hated it and his hair. I tried City Hunter and, while the story was good and his character was fine… I just couldn’t get into it. I’ve heard enough about Herirs to stay well enough away from the debacle, so I don’t know what else to try that will change my opinion. I’m considering giving him shot in his next drama (I like the writer, so even though I’m not into mermaids, I might try it. Maybe). Hopefully, fingers crossed, it’ll turn out to be magical.

https://i0.wp.com/hdwallpaperia.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Lee-Min-Ho-Wallpaper-640x480.jpg

image via hdwallpaper

Kim Yoo-Ri. Which is really too bad, because she’s in a few of my very favorite dramas. Thank goodness I don’t watch for the second leads (Oof, that felt mean. I almost want to take it back now). I really really wish I could just decide to like her acting more and suddenly find her wonderful–but I’ve seen her in three very different, very well done shows (KMHM, Master’s Sun and Marriage Contract)–and she’s yet to impress me at all. There was one scene I did like of her: at the end of MC, she talks with Ji-hoon and basically let’s go of her crush. It was a touching scene, and I felt like she did a good job showing the strong woman who was moving on. Maybe that’s it–she gives off a very elegant, in control vibe, and I think it might interfere with my love for her acting.

https://i0.wp.com/star.koreandrama.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Kim-Yoo-Ri-2.jpgmagazine image via koreandrama stars and the feature image via kdrama stars

5 responses to “Drama Challenge, Day 12

  1. Namgoong Min – I couldn’t stand him in any of the dramas I’ve seen him in, he always came off smarmy no matter what the role. Then Beautiful Gong Shim came along and suddenly he was adorable. LOL!

  2. For me, it’s the second female lead in lucky romance. I just couldn’t like her at all. Even when she was nice and friendly. I couldn’t make myself like her character.

  3. I totally get why you haven’t connected to them yet. There are popular actors/actresses out there that I think are just okay. I like Lee Min-Ho, but I admit he’s not my favorite. I really liked City Hunter and him in it… but still, I’m not his biggest fan yet.
    Weirdly enough I wasn’t a huge Lee Jun-Ki fan for a little while. But I kept watching his dramas… and now I LOVE HIM; HOW COULD I NOT??!! Hehe. Anyway, sometimes our feelings change. And sometimes they don’t, lol. :D
    Also I love drama challenges! So fun. :D

Leave a Reply

