A List of Charles Dickens

You know I read a lot. And I watch a lot of Drama. Well, it would be remiss of me to never mention a master of books and drama both–Charles Dickens. He might not have acted in Korean tv (haha I would laugh if that happened) but he sure put plenty of it into his books. Once you understand the publishing format (of both Dickens and Kdrama) the intense nature and twisted plots of the works make lot more sense. Dickens published his books weekly in newspapers, chapter by chapter. Similarly, Kdramas often run off of a live shoot system which allows for last minute script changes. Anyhow, I love them both. Here’s a list of my favorite Charles Dickens books–and my favorite adaptions of them

  1. Bleak House–and the BBC drama adaption, which was fabulous.
  2. Little Dorrit–and the BBC drama adaption, which was also fabulous.
  3. Great Expectations
  4. Ye Olde Curiosity Shop
  5. A Tale of Two Cities.

Bleak House BBC cast photo

Ok. I know a Tale of Two Cities is his most famous book (arguably) but it’s the bottom of my list for a reason: I hated the ending. It’s part of the reason I now read the last two pages of every book before I buy it. The rest of the book was good, but whhhyyyy! I didn’t want it to end like that. It’s what got me started writing alternate endings (mostly in my head). And now to finish, my top three reasons why I like Charles Dickens:

  1. He knows how to write a tragic backstory. If there’s one thing I’m a sucker for in a tale, it’s a good tragic backstory. Something with a bit of murder and mayhem, or experimentation or abandonment or what have you. Odd, I know, but it’s the overcoming the backstory that I really love. Give me a terrible dark beginning and watch that character rise to greatness, that’s what I want. I want it epic, and big, and sure you can make them an orphan if that’s what you like.
  2. The romance. When I was younger I read a lot of YA fiction. The ones where there’s really only one plot: angsty hero meets perky girl amidst the bad writing and she gets over the fact that he’s a vampire (or whatever else he is). The action/mystery/thriller book was really largely romance. So I love reading Dickens where–wonders!–there’s a twisted plot and you still get some good romance. More subtle, just the way I like it.
  3. The twisty plots. Everything has a purpose. Every mistake will come back to haunt you. Everything is connected and when it all comes down, it all comes down. I love that his books are a well plotted web of mystery and secrets. He’s good at keeping you guessing and back for more, complete with gorgeous descriptions (albeit of doorknockers occasionally).

Why do you love Dickens? Or do you?

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

 

Leave a Reply

