To Uplift and Inspire: And There Shall Be No More Death

This was a good talk for me. This is a good doctrine, one that makes it possible for me not to fear growing old (which I know is a bit silly coming from someone a quite ways off from their mid-life crisis). It was given this last spring during the Sunday afternoon session of conference by Elder Paul V. Johnson. It is titled And There Shall Be No More Death.

cemetery-269668_960_720

“A week ago was Easter, and our thoughts were focused again on the atoning sacrifice and Resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ. This past year I have been thinking and pondering about the Resurrection more than normal.

Nearly one year ago, our daughter Alisa died. She had struggled with cancer for almost eight years, with several surgeries, many different treatments, exciting miracles, and deep disappointments. […] I thought my heart would break.”

“Last year at Easter time, a little over a month before she passed away, Alisa wrote: “Easter is a reminder of all that I hope for myself. That someday I will be healed and someday I will be whole. Someday I won’t have any metal or plastic inside of me. Someday my heart will be free of fear and my mind free of anxieties. I am not praying that this happens soon, but I am so glad I truly believe in a beautiful afterlife.””

“The Resurrection is brought to pass by the Atonement of Jesus Christ and is pivotal to the great plan of salvation.4 We are spirit children of heavenly parents.5 When we come to this earth life, our spirit is united with our body. We experience all the joys and challenges associated with mortal life. When a person dies, their spirit is separated from their body. Resurrection makes it possible for a person’s spirit and body to be united again, only this time that body will be immortal and perfect—not subject to pain, disease, or other problems.”

“Each of us has physical, mental, and emotional limitations and weaknesses. These challenges, some of which seem so intractable now, will eventually be resolved. None of these problems will plague us after we are resurrected. Alisa researched survival rates for persons with the type of cancer she had, and the numbers were not encouraging. She wrote: “But there is a cure, so I’m not scared. Jesus has already cured my cancer, and yours. … I will be better. I’m glad I know this.”

“The Resurrection of the Savior proves that He is the Son of God and that what He taught is real. “He is risen, as he said.”12 There could be no stronger proof of His divinity than Him coming forth from the grave with an immortal body.”

“The reality of the Resurrection of the Savior overwhelms our heartbreak with hope because with it comes the assurance that all the other promises of the gospel are just as real—promises that are no less miraculous than the Resurrection. We know that He has the power to cleanse us from all our sins. We know that He has taken upon Himself all our infirmities, pains, and the injustices we have suffered.”

“Toward the end of the inspiring oratorio Messiah, Handel put to beautiful music the Apostle Paul’s words that rejoice over the Resurrection.

“Behold, I [tell] you a mystery; We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed,

“In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: … the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.

“For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.

“… Then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in victory.

“O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? …

“But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.””

“With an eye of faith, I picture Alisa completely beyond the reach of any earthly troubles or any sting of death—a resurrected, perfected Alisa, victorious and with a fulness of joy.

A few Easters ago, she wrote simply: “Life through His name. So much hope. Always. Through everything. I love Easter to remind me.”23

I testify of the reality of the Resurrection. Jesus Christ lives, and because of Him, we will all live again. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.”

~ ~ ~

I love that! What a beautiful message, and what a heartfelt, touching way to deliver it. I’m thankful for the faithful men and women who serve God and know that someday we shall live again with him, and our families.

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

