A List of Cary Grant

I don’t usually go out for specific actors or singers or authors. I like what I like and try not to mess with the creator too much–believing in good things is good, but always believing in a person to make the right choice or continually meet your expectations is just unrealistic.

There is, however, a very short and exclusive list of people whose work I generally always like, and I get excited when I see their name attached to a project. This list includes names like Terry Pratchett, Audrey Hepburn, Sarah M. Eden, Lee Jong Suk and yes, Cary Grant. There’s just something about him, with his hugely dimpled chin and mischievous eyes that makes me smile. Here are three reason why I love Cary Grant:

  1. His sense of comedic timing. In the large majority of the comedic roles I’ve seen him play he is not the one cracking the jokes and making a fool of himself. He’s often the straight man they play off of, throwing out hilarious comments with a serious attitude.
  2. His dedication to the role. I’ve seen Cary Grant in many different roles–suave, bumbling, mischievous–all of the above at once! And yet, he manages to take every character and make it his own.
  3. His eyes. I mentioned them above, but they really are remarkable. In every photo and film I’ve seen him in his eyes manage to capture the audience. He has a remarkable stage presence, and I love that. Here, I’ll show you what I’m talking about:

http://i0.wp.com/knowledgenuts.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Grant_Cary_Suspicion_01_Crisco_edit.jpg?resize=1024%2C537

image from knowledge nuts

And these are my top 3 films he’s in:

Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

Charade (1963)

To Catch a Thief (1955)

As I researched a bit more about Cary Grant, it didn’t take me long to discover a few skeletons in his closet. Most performers have them–heck, most humans have them. I do not want to think ill of the dead however and the fact remains he put out some of my all time favorite movies.

On another note, his work can now be linked to a current issue: actor ages. It’s a hot topic on a favorite kdrama site of mine at the moment, and has been for about a month too long. I still love the site, don’t get me wrong… I just feel like we all understand one anothers’ opinions by now and don’t have to go through it all the time. I do think it’s interesting to note, however, that regardless of where you fall on the issue it is not a recent one. It has roots as far back as the forties and fifties, when Cary Grant romanced stars like Grace Kelly–with a 25 year gap between them. Controversies and skeletons aside, however, Cary Grant remains an icon to me of classic Hollywood and good film-making.

Thanks for reading,

Cozybooks

Leave a Reply

