Why Books: May 20, 2016

Yay, I got a lot done these last two weeks… at least in terms of reading. Mistborn is definitely rant-worthy, but I still need to organize my thoughts. Rant to follow, probably Monday. :)

What I’m Reading:

Mistborn 2: Well of Ascension, by Brandon Sanderson

https://tionitroblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/mistborncover.jpg?w=363&h=590

Well of Ascension Book Cover image from: Nitroblog

The Hiding Place, by Corrie Ten Boom

 https://i0.wp.com/www.faithfulchoices.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/The-Hiding-Place-cover.jpgHiding Place Cover from: faithfulchoices

Finished:

Mistborn**** (Against the normal-book standard, this book would get an 5. But on the Sanderson scale, it only gets a 4. And since I consider all books by an

Angel Diary*** (Light, fun, but probably won’t read it again. Just a surface amusement, nothing more.)

Taiyou no Ie***** (So much cute, I just love it. And I’m really happy with the way they handle the situation with our lead’s mom and dad, moving back home after being estranged is never easy. They did a good job with a hard situation.)

 

Dropped:

D. Gray Man

 

What’s Next: It’s getting just plain embarrassing that it hasn’t changed all that much. I just get distracted by other, more interesting looking books. Not that I don’t love these ones, just that my interest isn’t perked right now. But they’re still there!

Spider and the Sparrow, by A.L. Sowards

Farenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

The Elusive Pimpernel, by the Baroness Orczy

 

What are you reading?

Cozybooks

5 responses to “Why Books: May 20, 2016

  1. Oh, I’ve read all the Sanderson’s Mistborn novels, save for the latest – ‘The Brand of Mourning’. I like his style. My fave of his has so far been ‘Warbreaker’, though I did like ‘Elantris’ a lot too.

    I go through these periods I read a metric ton of books, then nothing for a while, ha. During the last spree I went through all the volumes of Preston & Child’s Agent Pendergast -series I could get through our library. As it is, I just started the last one, ‘Crimson Shore’ on Monday. I’d totally forgotten I’d reserved it, untill I got the notification it was ready for pick-up.

    I like fantasy but it’s quite hard to find good stories these days and whenever I discover one, it’s almost without a fail part of a series. And I end up buying the whole lot. Sigh. Just can’t help myself. My latest find was Ben Aaronovitch. I love his ‘Rivers of London’ novels.

    Farenheit 451 – that takes me back. Good, old vintage SciFi. I think I read most of his novels way back when, along with other ‘oldies’ like Heinlein.

    • You are the best!! It’s like Christmas, getting book recommendations–I hadn’t heard of either of those series before, they look great! I feel you on the series bit, though. You fall in love with them, and then realize “Oh, there’s ten of these…” painful happiness. ;)
      I love Sanderson so much. Have you read the Way of Kings? That’s what got me started… Book 3 is 52% done, according to his blog.

      • You are welcome. :) I’m alway up for reccing stuff I’ve read, so here’s some more. No idea if they’ll be to your taste, though.

        Fantasy / SF:
        Holly Black – The Curse Workers series
        Kate Griffing – Matthew Swift series (4 books so far, no idea if more will be forthcoming), there’s a spin off series too ‘Magicals Anonymous’
        Justina Robson – Quantum Gravity series
        David Eddings wrote several fantasy series, The Belgariad and The Malloreon are my favourites. I still re-read them from time to time.
        Chris Claremont – Nicole Shea Trilogy (love this one, re-read it several times)
        Elizabeth Moon – Vatta’s War series

        Crime/mysteries
        Anything by William J. Caunitz, Peter Robinson, Ruth Rendell and Colin Dexter.^^
        Most ealier works by Dick Fancis, John Francome and Tony Hillerman – their later books aren’t bad per se but they do get kinda repetitive. These guys wrote A LOT. :D
        I do like Michael Connelly’s ‘Harry Bosch’ books as well, though the series is rather getting on the long side now.

        Romance is not really my genre these days but when I do get a hankering for some loveydovey, Georgette Heyer’s Regency novels are a good pick. I’ve also liked those Catherine Fox’s novels I’ve read, e.g ‘Angels and Men’. I love the way she uses words.

        You may not be up to political satire but I’d still like to pimp Terry Fallis’ twofer; ‘The Best Laid Plans’ and ‘The High Road’m which are absolutely hilarious! I laughed till I cried so.many.times. The TV series for the first book was pretty good too.

        Crikey! I do run on… but… it’s books! :)

        Oh, and nope, haven’t read ‘Way of Kings’ yet.

      • Read Way of Kings. Hands down my favorite fantasy ever, it changed my standard for reading. :)
        Thank you for the recommendations! I looked them up, I think a Harry Bosch, The Best Laid Plans and Vatta’s war made my list. Well, they’re pretty much all on my list, those are just the ones I want to read first. :) thanks!
        If you want more political satire, read Terry Pratchett’s Night Watch or Moist von Lipwig books, if you haven’t already (were you one of the ones fangirling in DB OT with me a few weeks ago?). Terry Pratchett is my favorite author ever.
        Haha, books deserve the attention, no worries. Thanks again!

  2. Good picks!^^
    Connelly is one of my fave, still active crime writers and I really like good, old Harry. :) I haven’t reand the last 2 books of the series yet and looks like another one is out in Nov this year. It’s a pretty long series but as Harry is now retired from the force, it’s possible the story is nearing it’s end.
    Elizabeth Moon tends to write strong female characters and I think Vatta’s War is a really nicely put together space opera. It’s a pretty compact series too, only 5 books.
    Yey! for ‘The Best Laid Plans’ – it’s definitely a great read and I’m quite curious to hear what you make of it. XD

Leave a Reply

