Life Lessons from a Kdrama: Entertainer

Entertainer cast photo from: Kgag

This show didn’t start out anywhere near being rant worthy. In fact, I came close to dropping it. I’m so happy I didn’t, though, because episode 6 of Entertainer gave me the funniest life lesson I’ve had in a while. Her’s the quote, in all it’s glory.

“Hold on. When you’re really desperate, getting on your knees is the best. Look at me: I was so desperate I asked a stranger for toilet paper. Life is like that.”

~the man from the stall nextdoor

Do I need to explain myself? Yeah, probably.

Context

Have you ever realized you need a favor from somebody you hate? Or have you ever had to get something from somebody who you wronged before? Well, that’s exactly what was happening in this scene.

Seok-ho is practicing his apologies and pleading in the mirror of a public bathroom. “Is that too sassy? Put some more emotion into it.” “No! That’s too pathetic. Please, I did wrong. I…”

Suddenly, he hears something from a stall down the way. “Excuse me?”

Seok ho makes a face and wanders over. “Yes?”

“I uh… I just started going without looking, and there’s no toilet paper here. Could you get some for me?”

Cue more disgusted faces. Nobody likes being the bearer of needed toilet paper… or the receiver, although you’re grateful to have it. Seok-ho complies, albeit awkwardly.

A few minutes later, both men stand in front of the bathroom mirror.

“So, are you an actor? I heard you practicing lines earlier.”

“I only wish they were lines,” Seok-ho replies. He’s really not looking forward to apologizing.

And then you get the best life metaphor I’ve heard in a while. “Hold on. When you’re really desperate, getting on your knees is the best. Look at me: I was so desperate I asked a stranger for toilet paper. Life is like that.”

Seok-ho laughs awkwardly and makes a quick exit.

(Entertainer is available on Viki and Dramafever).

But you know what? Life really is like that. Sometimes you’re the one in the stall, and sometimes you’re the assist. Life’s just like that, it comes and goes around. I promise everyone will at least once be the unprepared, unsuspecting or desperate one in need of some timely help. When it’s your turn, you’ve just gotta learn to laugh and ask for help. And if you’ve got that figured out, then go decide to be the assist today. Help somebody who needs it–even if it feels really awkward.

Update: haha sorry I forgot. If you want to watch the scene yourself, it’s Ep. 6 min 40:20-42:20. Have fun!

Thanks for reading and God Bless,

Cozybooks

Entertainer Poster from: fashionstyle

2 responses to “Life Lessons from a Kdrama: Entertainer

    • Do! I’m finding myself liking it more and more. Partially for Ji-sung, partially for the band, and partially because I like trying to understand why some people feel the call to music and entertaining others. :)

Leave a Reply

