The Value of Goals :)

I’ve been writing a lot in my book, so that’s why I haven’t been posting on the blog. I apologize for that. :) But I did set a few goals at the beginning of the summer, and I intend to see them through. :)

My Goals:

~lose weight (I didn’t set an amount, just that I wanted to lose some. and I have, especially this last month. Hooray for me! It’s another reason why I haven’t had much time to post anything.)

~write enough of Greyfield Flowers to be able to give somebody a few chapters to read if they wanted to, and also write enough of it that I would have surpassed the pages I’d worked on on a different book i’m writing. I’m almost to that goal. My other book I put on hiatus at 24 pages, I have written 20 pages of Greyfield Flowers. And I haven’t had a moment of writer’s block yet. That more than anything amazes me. :) plus those twenty pages of computer paper will translate to probably about 30-35 pages of book format. Yay!

 

~Keep my Chinese fresh. I took Chinese last year instead of french (because even though I’ve taken 4 years of french, the new french teacher scared me and I wanted to learn Chinese anyway), so I didn’t want to lose any of what I’ve learned, so I can keep studying it.

~Earn money. Which I have done. And spent a lot on books and a new pair of shoes and more books and some clothes I needed, but also put a ton into savings. :)

Now, I realize that those goals don’t seem to grandiose or hard to accomplish, but they’re big for me. I’ve been trying to lose 15-20 pounds for years and this summer I was able to start on that. I think going off dairy helped a lot. :) But anyway, on the the real stuff!

Don’t Quit

by: Unknown Author

When things go wrong as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh.
When care is pressing you down a bit.
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.
Life is queer with its twists and turns
As every one of us sometimes learns.
And many a failure turns about
When he might have won had he stuck it out:
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow –
You may succeed with another blow.
Success is failure turned inside out –
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt.
And you never can tell how close you are.
It may be near when it seems so far:
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

I think it is rather obvious how this poem relates to goals. I just want to add that the difference between success and failure can sometimes be only that when things seem to be hopeless, do you simply give up and say you’ll ‘try again later…maybe’ or do you stare down failure in the face and tell it to go mind its own business? I have trouble remembering sometimes that the only thing keeping me from my goals is me. Several years ago, when I was younger and more foolish (that doesn’t mean that I’m not still young and foolish, just that I’m older and a tiny bit wiser) I would scoff at the people who said that.

‘Sometimes, it’s just not possible,’ I’d say, ‘Sometimes you just run out of options.’

But now, I can see I was dead wrong. I think options are a bit like technology–they both come up with new innovations every year. The only reason why I would fail is because I gave up. Otherwise, I cannot help but succeed, because I cannot help but find more options.

And to wrap up, a quote:

Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal.
Henry Ford
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/goal.html#xI3VvegtXc7Jyrdz.99

180a8752234002128be1dd4459e3e8bd1305932103_full

 

Leave a Reply

