You Don’t Know Anybody. Really.

I just got back from a camping trip. A girl’s camp. And I actually had fun. Not only is this surprising because I’m, well… me, but because I generally don’t like this particular trip as it falls rather unfortunately close to my birthday. Every. Single. Year. And this year it didn’t! So I was happy. Well, anyway, I think I really… grew up, while I was camping. And there were several things that I was surprised by in my three days in the so-called wilderness. Particularly about people and how we perceive them.

1. You can find similarities and be surprised by people ALL the time, even when you’ve known them for several years. On the last day of the camp, we went on a five mile round-trip hike. Yeah. Me, two days into hiking, and then they want me to go on a five mile hike? Yeah. Talk about stretching little miss-doesn’t-like-to-be-active. But man, I am glad I went. why? because I found out that one of the girls I’ve known for years also likes three of the same authors I like and loves to read Regency Romance books. And she lent me one. And Anyway, I really liked walking all the way back, all 2.5 miles, because we spent the entire time talking about Regency romance, Marcia Lynn McClure, and what makes a man’s hands manly. It was awesome. 

2. You present an image you don’t even know about. I spent a lot of time reading on my camping trip (wonder of wonders) and also a lot of time staring out into space wondering when I could go home. Throughout all of this time I had people give me strange looks at my slightly more intelligent british-type sense of humor, tell me to stop complaining when I said something slightly sarcastic and dry about the heat and hiking, and cried when I felt so comforted, just when I needed it, by a girl who I barely knew as she threw her arm around me and told me she thought I was pretty, and a good friend. I’ve also been proven wrong about some of the rather shallow assumptions I had made about some of the other girls (I know, I shouldn’t think bad thoughts about other people, but sometimes they just drive me up the wall). What comes of all this? Just another life lesson in an unlikely place.

3. Some people just don’t click. I have a really good friend who tells me analogies about life all the time (she’s just cool like that) and one of them goes like this: People are cylinders, and the cylinders all have rough edges. Some of the times, the cylinders (which float through a big cloud of nothingness and meaninglessness) bump into other cylinders. They actually do this quite a lot. And sometimes, they meet  each other and rub up against each other. And sometimes they fit, and sometimes they don’t. But nobody ever really totally clicks. Except for maybe one cylinder out there, who falls in love. And sometimes they just don’t click. They rub against each other in the worst way, and make life miserable for each other. And that’s okay. You don’t have to get spend every minute of your day with them. But that isn’t a reason to be mean to them.

4. Life makes you grow up. It just does. Whether you like it or not, over time you get wiser. That doesn’t mean you always act wiser, it just means that you grow up. That’s all.

What does this have to do with anything? I think it has to do with the way we treat people. You don’t really know anybody completely, not really. Even if you’re really good friends with them and know the trials they go through, you don’t really know them. But you can love them just the same. And that doesn’t mean that you don’t know them at all, it just means that you don’t really understand the innermost workings of their heart. But the best friends still try. And I like that. So, to finish this post that has strangely taken me like–five days to write (so I got back from camp almost a week ago now), I’ll put a quote from one of my favorite movies up. The Lion King. :)

 

Rafiki: [after guiding Simba to a spot where he says will show him Mufasa] Look down there.

Adult Simba: [looks into a pool of water] That’s not my father. That’s just my reflection.

Rafiki: No, look harder.

[touches the water, as it ripples Simba’s reflection changes to that of his father]

Rafiki: You see? He lives in you.

Mufasa’s ghost: [from above] Simba.

Adult Simba: Father?

Mufasa’s ghost: [apears among the stars] Simba, you have forgotten me.

Adult Simba: No. How could I?

Mufasa’s ghost: You have forgotten who you are and so have forgotten me. Look inside yourself, Simba. You are more than what you have become. You must take your place in the Circle of Life.

 

So, That REALLY had nothing to do with the post, but I find it inspirational. Maybe you guys can make a connection for me, cause I can’t see one. :) And because this post has no pictures, I’ll put in some inspirational pictures. A Lot of Pictures.

6323019452_b86323295d_z bfkopt flower_mist.c6scehdhw68g8ckcgock8skcc.6ylu316ao144c8c4woosog48w.th flower-wallpaper-359010950 il_fullxfull.316005541 images inspirational-water-scenes-in-black-and-white

Leave a Reply

