Variant~ by Robison Wells

10433900When I first picked this book up off the library shelf I don’t know what I was expecting. Not anything too spectacular, certainly. But this book exceeded what I had thought it would be. Now, it didn’t quite live up to the quote of praise on the title–they said the twist was the best they’d read since Ender’s Game. And it was… not. It was good book, and I liked it. :)

Content

There are a couple of kisses, but nothing more. The first rule of the “school” that they’re in is in fact that sex is a no-no. And the video cameras everywhere reinforce that–if you break the rules…bad things happen. And I suppose that even if I did see one of the twists, there was one that threw me for a loop. (No, I’m not going to tell you what it is.)

There is a body count. They’re not killing each other, but people do die. And there is some violence, but not nearly as much as say–Hunger Games or Maximum Ride or anything like that. And there is romance, but it’s not evident and it’s not a big part of the plot line. Well, it is-ish. Kinda. Not really. No…. it is. but not in the way you’d think. :) and there were like–three to five swear words, I counted. And none of them were extreme–just dang and gosh. :)

Anyway, this is a kinda short review, but I don’t really have anything more to say. It was just… a book. Just like so many others. The plot wasn’t the most original at its base, but it was a great variation on the idea.

Leave a Reply

