Valkyrie Rising~ A debut by Ingrid Paulson

Cover Art For Valkyrie Rising           Oh. My. Gosh. I LOVE this book! I can’t believe that I nearly passed it over when I was perusing the bookshelves of Barnes and Noble! I looked at the cover and okay yes–I do judge books by their covers sometimes. I saw a girl wearing a short dress, leggings, and very nearly a… strange expression on her face. It was SO much better and different than the cover.

Content

Okay, first thing you need to know. There is a sentence, at the end of the book, that could be interpreted as being a bad thing. Maybe. I don’t choose to interpret it that way–after all, it’s much more fun that way. But if you’re the type of person who likes to read the worst into every situation, then you could say it was a lead to quadruple space. I prefer NOT to make that assumption, and I love this book.

Other than that, the only thing I have to tell you is that there is some swearing–nothing major, no f-bombs, none of the more creative stuff. Just a few sailors’ phrases here and there (nothing against sailors, my uncle is a sailor) and stuff like that. a GREAT Book.

My Thoughts

     Okay. Where do I even start?! This book had it all–the girl who wanted to get free, wanted to be her own person (point to the feminists) but it wasn’t all over the place girl power and stuff. Although she was pretty kickbutt. She got beat up a few times, allowing for development, and there were a few plot twists I NEVER saw coming. Great premise too! Norweigan myths?! I love it. Hope this helps!

~Cozybooks

 

 

Leave a Reply

